Serena Loses on Penalty

When was the last time a Grand Slam match ended on a penalty? With Kim Clijsters two points away from a major upset, Serena Williams was penalized for having her foot on the line on her second serve. Enraged, Williams cursed at the line judge and appeared to say, "I swear to God I'm [expletive] going to take this [expletive] ball and shove it down your [expletive] throat, you hear that? I swear to God," according to ESPN. The line judge walked over to the chair umpire and reported what was said. Williams was promptly penalized one point and lost the match, 6-4, 7-5. The embarrassing outburst continued up to the post-match press conference, though Williams did say she wished her opponent the best. The bizarre conclusion mars Clijsters' remarkable story: She has come out of a 27-month retirement and is the first mother to reach a Grand Slam final since 1980.