Team Spirit

Pelosi Picks Supercommittee

House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi has selected her picks for the debt-reduction supercommittee. Reps. James Clyburn of South Carolina, Xavier Becerra of California, and Chris Van Hollen of Maryland were selected after Pelosi's vow to appoint Democrats who would protect entitlement programs and push for revenue increases. All 12 members of the new committee have now been selected by congressional leaders. Pelosi made a statement calling for transparency in the deliberations of the committee, going on to say, "We must achieve a ‘grand bargain’ that reduces the deficit by addressing our entire budget, while strengthening Medicare, Medicaid, and Social Security. Our entire caucus will work closely with these three appointees toward this goal, which is the goal of the American people."