Obama Waives No Child Left Behind

The Obama administration is going to loosen requirements from the Bush-era No Child Left Behind Law for 10 states, according to an administration official. The states applied for a waiver that would let them substitute new, more flexible evaluation standards. Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, Oklahoma, and Tennessee were all approved. New Mexico was denied, but they are working to get approval. No Child Left Behind required all students to be proficient in reading and math by 2014.