NBCC Announces Book Nominees

The National Book Critics Circle announced the finalists for its 2009 awards Monday. Women rule the fiction nominations, with Bonnie Jo Campbell, Michelle Huneven, Hilary Mantel, and Jayne Anne Phillips nominated in addition to Marlon James. In nonfiction, nominees include William T. Vollmann for Imperial and Greg Grandin’s Fordlandia: The Rise and Fall of Henry Ford’s Forgotten Jungle City. Joyce Carol Oates will receive a lifetime achievement award when the winners are announced March 11, and Joan Acocella will be rewarded for excellence in reviewing.