Murphy Wins New York House Race

Should Norm Coleman be taking notes? Democrat Scott Murphy has won Kirsten Gillibrand's former seat in New York’s Congress after Republican James Tedisco conceded this afternoon. The race was too close to call on election night nearly a month ago, but a recount showed Murphy’s lead expanding. The heated special election race began after Gillibrand left to fill Hillary Clinton’s seat in the U.S. Senate. Murphy’s district has more than 196,000 registered Republicans and 125,000 Democrats.