Mario Vargas Llosa Wins Nobel Prize in Literature 2010

Peruvian author Mario Vargas Llosa has won the 2010 Nobel Prize for Literature, a surprise given that Vargas Llosa wasn’t considered a favorite to win the award. The author of The Time of the Hero. The Green House, and Conversation in the Cathedral "was chosen for his cartography of structures of power and his trenchant images of the individual's resistance, revolt, and defeat.” His books Captain Pantoja and the Special Service and Aunt Julia and the Scriptwriter have been made in to movies.