Lincecum Wins NL Cy Young Award

San Francisco Giants ace Tim Lincecum won his second straight National League Cy Young Award on Thursday, becoming the first repeat winner since Randy Johnson won the award four consecutive times from 1999 to 2002. Lincecum won just 15 games—low for a Cy Young winner—but posted a 2.48 ERA and led the league with 261 strikeouts. It was one of the closest contests in history: Lincecum had 100 points; St. Louis Cardinals ace Chris Carpenter had 94 points; and Cardinals pitcher Adam Wainwright had 90 points. Wainwright actually had the most first-place votes, with 12.