Leaders Select ‘Supercommittee’

Congressional leaders have announced their appointments for the deficit-reduction "supercommittee," the group charged with the task of mapping out a long-term debt-reduction deal. House Speaker John Boehner has appointed three Republican members from the House: Ways and Means Committee Chairman Dave Camp and Energy and Commerce Committee Chairman Fred Upton, both of Michigan, and Republican Conference chairman Jeb Hensarling of Texas. Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell also announced Wednesday three Senate Republican members: Jon Kyl of Arizona, Pat Toomey of Pennsylvania, and Rob Portman of Ohio. On Tuesday, Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid announced three Senate Democratic members of the committee: Patty Murray of Washington, John Kerry of Massachusetts, and Max Baucus of Montana.