La Russa, Torre, Cox Make Hall

Tony La Russa, Joe Torre, and Bobby Cox, three managers who dominated baseball in the last three decades, have been selected for the Hall of Fame. The three managers, who rank third, fifth, and fourth on the all-time win list, combined for 7,558 victories and eight World Series. La Russa is famous for his tenure at the Oakland Athletics and St. Louis Cardinals, changing the way bullpens were run and going out with a World Series win with the Cardinals. Cox, who led the Braves to 14 consecutive division titles and a World Series win, was also notorious for his antics with umpires which led him to a record 158 ejections. Joe Torre was the guiding hand behind four World Series championships for the New York Yankees. The late Yankees owner George Steinbrenner who was on the ballot was not elected.