House Passes Bill to Tighten Visa Rules

The House of Representatives voted Tuesday to strengthen control of a visa-waiver program for citizens of 38 nations who are allowed to enter the U.S. without obtaining a visa. The bill would prevent any visitors from the 38 particpating countries and who have visited Iraq, Iran, Syria, or the Sudan in the past five years from entering the country without a visa. The measure, which is part of a national response to the attacks in Paris and San Bernardino, California, would also require countries in the visa-waiver program to share information with the U.S. about suspected terrorists. The legislation is expected to clear the Senate and become law by the end of the year.