Gay Marriage Recognized in 6 More States

The federal government will recognize same-sex marriage in another six states and extend federal benefits to those couples, Attorney General Eric Holder announced on Saturday. The news comes after the legalization of same-sex marriage in Alaska, Arozina, Idaho, North Carolina, West Virginia and Wyoming and the Supreme Court’s decision to decline to hear appeals from five states that sought to keep their marriage bans in place. The total number of states with federal recognition of gay marriage is now up to 32, plus the District of Columbia.