Florida, Arkansas, North Dakota Vote to Legalize Medical Marijuana

Florida, North Dakota, and Arkansas all voted Tuesday evening to legalize medicinal marijuana. Florida previously allowed medical marijuana for a narrow group of patients with cancer and severe spasms, but under their new law, the list of covered medical ailments will substantially expand. “With Arkansas, Florida and North Dakota voters all choosing to allow medical marijuana tonight, the federal government will feel greatly increased pressure to reschedule cannabis and finally acknowledge that this plant has medicinal value,” said Tom Angell, chairman of Marijuana Majority, an organization working to change marijuana-related laws nationwide.