Democrats Pick Up NH Senate Seat

Democratic Governor of New Hampshire, Maggie Hassan, won her Senate race against incumbent Kelly Ayotte. Hassan won by a mere 1,023 votes. “I am proud to stand here as the next United States senator from New Hampshire,” Hassan said in her victory speech. Hillary Clinton also won the state in the presidential election and Ayotte often struggled with her support for president-elect Donald Trump, who she once called a role model and later rescinded.