All Stars

Debt Super Committee’s First Picks

Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid will name Sens. Patty Murray of Washington, Max Baucus of Montana, and John Kerry of Massachusetts to the debt supercommittee tasked with cutting $1.2 trillion from the federal government’s budget, a Democratic aide said Tuesday. The three senators will be part of the 12-member Joint Select Committee on Debt Reduction, the so-called debt “supercommittee” that was part of the deal to raise the debt ceiling. The committee must come up with recommendations by Nov. 23, and if the majority approves the recommendations, the House and Senate will vote on them by Dec. 23. If the committee—and the House and Senate—cannot agree on recommendations by Dec. 23, cuts will be triggered automatically. The committee’s other members—three Senate Republicans, three House Democrats, and three House Republicans—will be chose by each party’s leadership.