Top Honors

Cooper-Hewitt Gala Celebrates 10th Anniversary

To celebrate its 10th annual National Design Awards Gala, the Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum honored outstanding achievement in architecture, landscape design, interior design, product design, communication design, corporate design, interaction design and fashion. This year’s winners were honored at Cipriani 42nd Street in New York on October 22, and at an exhibition,“Design USA: Contemporary Innovation,” displaying the work of more then 75 previous winters. National Design Award winners are selected based on their work’s level of excellence, innovation and public impact by a jury of former winners from diverse design backgrounds. Said John Maeda, chair of the 2009 National Design Awards jury and president of the Rhode Island School of Design: “This year’s winners and finalists affirm that good design positively impacts both our economy and our everyday lives.”