Australia Shuts Out Countries With Ebola

Australia announced that it would temporarily shut its borders to people from countries suffering from Ebola. “We are not processing any application from these affected countries,” Immigration Minister Scott Morrison told parliament Monday. Australia will also cancel or refuse any non-permanent visas for people from Sierra Leone, Liberia, and Guinea. Permanent visa holders will have to submit to a 21-day quarantine before they depart for Australia, according to the new government guidelines. “The government’s systems and processes are working to protect Australians,” said Morrison. Australia has not had a single case of Ebola. Many opponents have urged the government to do more to help West Africa, which has lost nearly 5,000 lives to Ebola.