2 Awarded Nobel for Neutrino Discovery

The 2015 Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded Tuesday to Takaaki Kajita of Japan and Arthur B. McDonald of Canada for their discovery of neutrino oscillation, which shows the subatomic particles have mass. Secretary of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences Göran Hansson said the duo’s discovery “changed our understanding of the innermost workings of matter and can prove crucial to our view of the universe.” Takaaki is a professor at University of Tokyo and the director of Institute for Cosmic Ray Research. McDonald is a professor emeritus at Queen’s University in Kingston, Canada.