18 States and D.C. Sue DeVos Over Delayed Student Loan Protections

The District of Columbia and 18 U.S. states have filed a lawsuit against Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos on Thursday for her decision to delay regulations protecting federal student loan borrowers against being defrauded by for-profit colleges. The lawsuit, brought forth by Democratic attorneys, accuses DeVos of betraying “her office’s responsibility” and violating federal law by delaying the regulations, which were finalized under the Obama administration and were meant to go into effect on the first of July. DeVos said in June that the rules create “a muddled process that's unfair to students and schools” and that she plans to rewrite them later this year.